California Department of Insurance
Eight-Hour Mandatory Long-Term Care Course
Attachment Il

Applicable Laws & Penalties
Long Term Care

Long-Term Care Insurance, California Insurance Code (Cal. Ins. Code) sections 10230 —
10237.6

Applicable Laws:
e Cal. Ins. Code sections 10233.3, 10234.85, 10234.86, and 10234.87
e Cal. Ins. Code section 10234.97: Various requirements for the replacement of LTC
policies

e Cal. Ins. Code section 10234.95: All sales of LTC insurance shall meet the “suitability”
standards

Penalty

All violations of Chapter 2.6 subject to the following penalties in addition to court penalties,
attorney’s fees, and costs per Cal. Ins. Code section 10234.2

. Cal. Ins. Code section 10234.3(a): Penalty of not less than $250 for each 15t
violation; not less than $1,000 and not more than $25,000 for each subsequent or

knowing violation; for inappropriate replacement of LTC coverage, penalty not more than
$5,000 for each violation

. Cal. Ins. Code section 10234.4(a): Suspend or revoke license

. Cal. Ins. Code section 10234 .4(c): Ordered to cease marketing long-term care
insurance in California

General Provisions

Misrepresentation of Policies, Cal. Ins. Code section 780
Twisting, Cal. Ins Code section 781

Applicable Laws:

e Cal. Ins. Code section_780: Prohibited statements re: terms, benefits, privileges, or
future dividends of policy

e Cal. Ins. Code section 781(a): Twisting: prohibited statement known to be a
misrepresentation to induce person to take out a policy, refuse a policy and take out
another, let lapse, forfeit of surrender policy

e Cal. Ins. Code section 781(b): Prohibited misleading statement or comparison of
insurers or policies to induce person to let insurance lapse, forfeit, change, or surrender
policy

Penalty:

e Cal. Ins. Code section 782: Any person who violates Cal. Ins. Code sections 780 or
781 is punishable by a fine not to exceed $25,000, or if victim loss exceeds $10,000, the
fine is not to exceed three times the loss suffered by the victim, by imprisonment not to
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exceed one year, or by both a fine and imprisonment; restitution to victim pursuant to
Penal Code section 1202.4 shall be satisfied before any fine imposed by this sectionis
collected
e Cal. Ins. Code section 783: Any insurance agent, broker, or solicitor who knowingly
violates Cal. Ins. Code sections 780 or 781 may have their license suspended for up tothree
years after a hearing

Unfair PracticesSections, Cal. Ins. Code sections 790 — 790.15

Applicable Laws:
e Cal. Ins. Code section 790.01: Applies to insurers, agents, and “all other persons
engaged in the business of insurance”
e Cal. Ins. Code section 790.02: Prohibits use of unfair trade practices or unfair method
of competition or deceptive act or practice in the business of insurance
e Cal. Ins. Code section 790.03: Lists in detail prohibited acts such as
misrepresentations about the terms of any policy issued or the benefitsor advantages
promised; prohibits making, disseminating, causing to be made or disseminated in any
manner any known or reasonably should be known, untrue, deceptive, misleading
statement
e Cal. Ins. Code section 790.037: Unfair practice selling healthcare products; cold lead
advertising; appointments; Medicare products restrictions on sales discussions

Penalty
All violations of Article 6.5 subject to penalties as follows:

o Cal. Ins. Code section 790.035(a): Civil penalty not to exceed $5,000.00 for each act;
if act or practice is willful, civil penalty not to exceed $10,000.00 for each act

e Cal. Ins. Code section 790.05: Cease and Desist Order; subsequent violations
license may be suspended/revoked for up to one year

e Cal. Ins. Code section 790.06: Prosecution of acts not defined in Cal. Ins. Code section
790.03 — Cease and Desist Order

e Cal. Ins. Code section 790.07: Violation of Cease and Desist Order; penalty not to
exceed $5,000; if willful, penalty not to exceed $55,000 plus penalty under Cal. Ins. Code
section 790.05

« Cal. Ins. Code section 790.08: Provides that the penalties in this article are in

addition to any other powers of the Commissioner to enforce the laws

Other Relevant Insurance Code Sections
Insurance Information & Privacy Protection Act, Cal. Ins. Code sections 791 — 791.28
Applicable Laws:
Cal. Ins. Code section 791.03: Prohibits the use of “pretext interviews” to obtain information in

connection with an insurance transaction (i.e. “free lunch” seminars)
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Penalty
All violations of Article 6.6 subject to penalties as follows:

e Cal. Ins. Code section 791.17: Cease and Desist Order issued

e Cal. Ins. Code section 791.19: Violation of Cease and Desist Order: penalty of not
more than $10,000 for each violation, or not more than $50,000 if frequent violations
constitute general business practice

« Suspension and revocation of license for knowing violation

Medicare Supplement Insurance, Cal. Ins. Code sections 10192.1 — 10192.24

Applicable Laws:

e Cal. Ins. Code section 10192.18: Application forms require certain questions to determine if
applicant already has a policy or certificate; must be signed by both applicant and agent

e Cal. Ins. Code section 10192.21(b): Prohibits sale of a Medicare supplement policy or
certificate if individual already has one

e Cal. Ins. Code section 10192.23: States time periods for replacement of policies

Penalty
All violations of Article 6 subject to the following penalties:

e Cal. Ins. Code sections 10192.165(a) and (c): Court penalties, including

damages and restitution

e Cal. Ins. Code section 10192.165(b)(1): Penalty of no less than $250 for first violation by
agent, broker, other person/entity engaged in business of insurance

e Cal. Ins. Code section 10192.165(b)(2): Penalty of no less than $1,000 and no more
than $25,000 for each second, subsequent, or knowing violation

e Cal. Ins. Code section 10192.165(d): Order to cease marketing any Medicare
supplement policy or certificate

e Cal. Ins. Code section 10192.165(e): Any person who knowingly or intentionally
violates this article is punishable by imprisonment in county jail not to exceed one year,
or by imprisonment per Penal Code section 1170 or a fine not to exceed $10,000 or
both

OTHER RELEVANT INSURANCE CODE SECTIONS

Welfare and Institutions Code section 15610.27
"Elder" means any person residing in this state, 65 years of age or older.

Welfare and Institutions Code section 15610.30
(a) "Financial abuse" of an elder or dependent adult occurs when a person or entity
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does any of the following:
(1) Takes, secretes, appropriates, obtains, or retains real or personal
property of an elder or dependent adult for a wrongful use or with intent to
defraud, or both
2) Assists in doing the above activities

(3) Does or assists in the above activities by undue influence, as defined in Cal.
Ins. Code section 15610.70
(b) A person or entity shall be deemed to have committed the above acts for a
wrongful use if, among other things, the person or entity takes, secretes, appropriates,
obtains, or retains the property and the person or entity knew or should have known
that this conduct is likely to be harmful to the elder or dependent adult.
(c) For purposes of this section, a person or entity takes, secretes, appropriates,
obtains, or retains real or personal property when an elder or dependent adult is
deprived of any property right, including by means of an agreement, donative transfer,
or testamentary bequest, regardless of whether the property is held directly or by a
representative of an elder or dependent adult.
(d) For purposes of this section, "representative” means a person or entity who is
either of the following:
(1) a conservator, trustee, or other representative of the estate of an elder or
dependent adult
2) an attorney-in-fact of an elder or dependent adult who acts within the
authority of the power of attorney

Conspiracy, California Penal Code section 182
(a) If two or more persons conspire to:

(1) commit any crime
2 falsely and maliciously to indict another for any crime, or to procure
another to be charged orarrested for any crime
(3) falsely to move or maintain any suit, action, or proceeding
4) cheat and defraud any person of any property, by any means which
are in themselves criminal, or to obtain money or property by false pretenses
or by false promises with fraudulent intent not to perform those promises
(5) commit any act injurious to the public health, to public morals, or to pervert or
obstruct justice, or the due administration of the laws
(6) commit any crime against the person of the President or Vice President of
the United States,the Governor of any state or territory, any United States justice
or judge, or the secretary of any of the executive departments of the United States

Financial Elder Abuse, California Penal Code section 368(d)

A person who is not a caretaker who violates any provision of law proscribing theft,
embezzlement, forgery, or fraud, or who violates section 530.5 proscribing identity theft, with
respect to the property or personal identifying information of an elder or a dependent adult, and
who knows or reasonably should know that the victim is an elder or a dependent adult is
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punishable as follows:

(@) By a fine not exceeding two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or by
imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and
imprisonment, or by a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by
imprisonment pursuant to California Penal Code section 1170(h) for two, three, or four

years, or by both that fine and imprisonment, when the moneys, labor, goods, services,
or real or personal property taken or obtained is of a value exceeding nine hundred fifty
dollars ($950)

(b) By a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), by imprisonment in a
county jail not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment, when the
moneys, labor, goods,services, or real or personal property taken or obtained is of a
value not exceeding nine hundred fifty dollars ($950)

Burglary, California Penal Code section 459

Every person who enters any house, room, apartment, tenement, shop, warehouse, store, mill,
barn, stable, outhouse, or other building, tent, vessel, as defined in s Harbors and Navigation
Code section 21, floating home, as defined in the Health and Safety Code section 18075.55(d),
railroad car, locked or sealed cargo container, whether or not mounted on a vehicle, trailer coach
as defined the Vehicle Code (VC) section 635, any house car, as defined in VC section 362,
inhabited camper, as defined in VC section 243, vehicle as defined by the VC, when the doors
are locked, aircraft as defined by the Public Utilities Code section 21012, or mine or any
underground portion thereof, with intent to commit grand or petit larceny or any felony is guilty of
burglary. As used in this chapter, “inhabited" means currently being used for dwelling purposes,
whether occupied or not. A house, trailer, vessel designed for habitation, or portion of a building
is currently being used for dwelling purposes if, at the time of the burglary, it was not occupied
solely because a natural or other disaster caused the occupants to leave the premises.

Forgery, California Penal Code section 470

Every person who, with the intent to defraud, knowing that he or she has no authority to do so,
signs the name of another person or of a fictitious person to any of the items listed in subdivision
(d) is guiltyof forgery.

Grand Theft, California Penal Code section 487
When the money, labor, or real or personal property taken is of a value exceeding nine hundred
fiftydollars ($950)

Computer Access Fraud, California Penal Code section 502(c)
(@) Any person who commits any of the following acts is guilty of a public offense:

(1)  knowingly accesses and without permission alters, damages, deletes,
destroys, or otherwise uses any data, computer, computer system, or computer
network in order to either (A) devise or execute any scheme or artifice to defraud,
deceive, or extort, or (B) wrongfully control or obtain money, property, or data
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(2) knowingly accesses and without permission takes, copies, or makes use of
any data from a computer, computer system, or computer network, or takes or

copies any supporting documentation, whether existing or residing internal or

external to a computer, computer system, or computer network

(3)  knowingly and without permission uses or causes to be used computer services

(4)  knowingly accesses and without permission adds, alters, damages, deletes,
or destroys any data, computer software, or computer programs which reside or
exist internal or external to a computer, computer system, or computer network

(5)  knowingly and without permission disrupts or causes the disruption of
computer services or denies or causes the denial of computer services to an
authorized user of a computer, computer system, or computer network

(6)  knowingly and without permission provides or assists in providing a

means of accessing acomputer, computer system, or computer network in

violation of this section

(7) knowingly and without permission accesses or causes to be accessed any
computer, computer system, or computer network

(8) knowingly introduces any computer contaminant into any computer,
computer system, or computer network

(9)  knowingly and without permission uses the Internet domain name of

another individual, corporation, or entity in connection with the sending of one or
more electronic mail messages,and thereby damages or causes damage to a
computer, computer system, or computer network

(10)  knowingly and without permission disrupts or causes the disruption of
government computer services or denies or causes the denial of government
computer services to an authorized user of a government computer, computer
system, or computer network

(11)  knowingly accesses and without permission adds, alters, damages, deletes, or
destroys any data, computer software, or computer programs which reside or exist
internal or external to a public safety infrastructure computer system computer,
computer system, or computer network

(12)  knowingly and without permission disrupts or causes the disruption of public
safety infrastructure computer system computer services or denies or causes the denial
of computer services to an authorized user of a public safety infrastructure computer
system computer, computer system, or computer network

(13) knowingly and without permission provides or assists in providing a means of
accessing a computer, computer system, or public safety infrastructure computer
system computer, computer system, or computer network in violation of this section
(14) knowingly introduces any computer contaminant into any public safety
infrastructure computer system computer, computer system, or computer network

Identity Theft, California Penal Code section 530
Every person who falsely personates another, in either their private or official capacity, and in
such assumed character receives any money or property, knowing that it is intended to be
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delivered to the individual so personated, with intent to convert the same to their own use, or to
that of another person,or to deprive the true owner thereof, is punishable in the same manner
and to the same extent as for larceny of the money or property so received.

Theft by False Pretenses, California Penal Code section 532

Every person who knowingly and designedly, by any false or fraudulent representation or
pretense, defrauds any other person of money, labor, or property, whether real or personal, or
who causes or procures others to report falsely of their wealth or mercantile character, and by
thus imposing upon any person obtains credit, and thereby fraudulently gets possession of
money or property, or obtains the labor or service of another, is punishable in the same manner
and to the same extent as for larceny of the money or property so obtained.
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