STATE OF CALIFORNIA DAVE JONES, Insurance Commissioner

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

45 Fremont Street 21 Floor
San Francisco, California 94105

To: All Admitted Property & Casualty Insurers, Licensed Independent
Insurance Adjusters, Insurance Agent/Brokers, Public Insurance Adjusters and
other Interested Parties

Subject: Important California Laws that Pertain to Property Insurance Policies after a
Declared Disaster

Date: November 17, 2017

On October 9-10, 2017, California Governor Jerry Brown proclaimed a state of emergency in
several counties in California due to the numerous wildfires. On October 13, 2017, California
Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones declared an emergency situation in connection with those
wildfires. He therein authorized out-of-state non-California licensed claims adjusters to adjust
claims in the fire areas as reasonably necessary and in conformity with the requirements of
California Insurance Code section 14022.5 and all other insurance laws.

Permitting out-of-state non-California licensed claims adjusters to adjust claims has resulted in a
more effective response by insurers to expedite initial payments to those impacted by the
wildfires. However, the Insurance Commissioner has received feedback from wildfire survivors,
public officials, and other stakeholders that some of the representations made (by out-of-state
non-California licensed claims adjusters and claims adjusters employed by the insurance
company or by a California licensed independent adjuster), conflict with California law.

For example, several survivors who suffered a total destruction of their home have advised us
that the claims adjuster told them they only had 6 months (or in some cases only 12 months) to
collect full replacement cost to rebuild. Under California law, no policy may have a time limit of
less than 12 months to rebuild and collect replacement cost. Further, after a loss relating to a
“state of emergency” (which these wildfires were declared by Governor Brown) this time period
can be no less than 24 months.

Notice is hereby given that all claims adjusters, whether California-licensed or not, who are
assigned to wildfire claims must be properly trained on the California Unfair Practices Act, Fair
Claims Settlement Practices Regulations, and all laws relating to property and casualty insurance
claims handling. Some insurance laws are specifically triggered by a declared disaster and
impact how claims are paid and the various timeframes for payment of claims that supersede
policy provisions to the contrary. Further, insurance companies and agent-brokers should also
take steps to ensure that underwriting transactions (i.e. cancellations, non-renewals), and
representations made on underwriting issues, comply with laws in place to protect insureds after
a total loss or declared disaster. All property and casualty licensees must be knowledgeable
about these laws and provide guidance to insureds that is consistent with these laws. The laws
referenced include but are not limited to the following:
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CLAIMS AND COVERAGE RELATED LAWS

ISSUE

INSURANCE
CODE
SECTION

SUMMARY

Time Limit to Collect Full
Replacement Cost

§205L.5 (b)(1)

No time limit of less than 12 months from the date that the
first payment toward the actual cash value is made shall be
placed upon an insured in order to collect the full
replacement cost of the loss, subject to the policy limit.
Additional extensions of six months shall be provided to
policyholders for good cause. In the event of a loss
relating to a “state of emergency,” as defined in Section
8558 of the Government Code, no time limit of less than
24 months from the date that the first payment toward the
actual cash value is made shall be placed upon the insured
in order to collect the full replacement cost of the loss,
subject to the policy limit. Nothing in this section shall
prohibit the insurer from allowing the insured additional
time to collect the full replacement cost.

Time Limit to Collect
Additional Living
Expenses (ALE)

§205L1.5 (b)(2)

In the event of a covered loss relating to a state of
emergency, as defined in Section 8558 of the Government
Code, coverage for additional living expenses shall be for
a period of 24 months, but shall be subject to other policy
provisions, provided that any extension of time required
by this paragraph beyond the period provided in the policy
shall not act to increase the additional living expense
policy limit in force at the time of the loss.

Rebuilding in Current
Location or Rebuilding or
Replacing in a New
Location

§2051.5 ()

Homeowners may use their replacement cost insurance
coverage to (1) rebuild at the current location, (2) rebuild
on a new location, or (3) purchase an already built home at
a new location.

In the event of a total loss of the insured structure, no
policy issued or delivered in this state may contain a
provision that limits or denies payment of the replacement
cost in the event the insured decides to rebuild or replace
the property at a location other than the insured premises.
However, the measure of indemnity shall be based upon
the replacement cost of the insured property and shall not
be based upon the cost to repair, rebuild, or replace at a
location other than the insured premises.

Homeowners are entitled to the “extended" or
"guaranteed" portion of their replacement cost policies (if
applicable) even if they rebuild or replace in a new
location.

Changing Claims
Adjusters

§2071

If, within a six-month period, the company assigns a third
or subsequent adjuster to be primarily responsible for a
claim, the insurer shall provide the insured with a written
status report. The written status report must include a
summary of any decisions or actions that are substantially
related to the disposition of a claim, including, but not
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limited to, the amount of losses to structures or contents,
the retention or consultation of design or construction
professionals, the amount of coverage for losses to
structures or contents and all items of dispute.

Appraisal 82071 In the event of a government-declared disaster, as defined
in the Government Code, appraisal may be requested by
either the insured or the insurance company but shall not
be compelled.

Copy of Complete Policy | 82084 After a covered loss under a policy covered by Section

After a Loss

2071, an insurer shall provide to the insured, free of
charge, a complete, current copy of his or her policy
within 30 calendar days of receipt of a request from the
insured.

UNDERWRITING RELATED LAWS

ISSUE

INSURANCE
CODE
SECTION

SUMMARY

Cancellation after Total
Loss to Primary Structure

§675.1(b)

The insurer shall not cancel coverage while the primary
insured structure is being rebuilt, except for the reasons
specified in subdivisions (a) to (e), inclusive, of Section
676. The insurer shall not use the fact that the primary
insured structure is in damaged condition as a result of the
total loss as the sole basis for a decision to cancel the
policy pursuant to subdivision (e) of that section.

Adjustment of Policy
Limits on Renewal

§675.1(a)

If reconstruction of the primary insured structure has not
been completed by the time of policy renewal, the insurer,
prior to or at the time of renewal, and after consultation by
the insurer or its representative with the insured as to what
limits and coverages might or might not be needed, shall
adjust the limits and coverages, write an additional policy,
or attach an endorsement to the policy that reflects the
change, if any, in the insured’s exposure to loss. The
insurer shall adjust the premium charged to reflect any
change in coverage.

Non-Renewal After a
Declared Disaster

§675.1(c)

Except for the reasons specified in subdivisions (a) to (e),
inclusive, of Section 676, the insurer shall offer to, at least
once, renew the policy in accordance with the provisions
of subdivision (a) if the total loss to the primary insured
structure was caused by a disaster, as defined in
subdivision (b) of Section 1689.14 of the Civil Code, and
the loss was not also due to the negligence of the insured.

Questions regarding this Notice should be directed to:

Risa Salat-Kolm, Attorney 111
California Department of Insurance

(415) 538-4127

Risa.Salat-Kolm@insurance.ca.gov
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