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NOTICE 
 
TO: All Property/Casualty Insurance Companies and Other Interested Parties  
 
SUBJECT: Expedited Claim Handling Billing Grace Period Procedures for 
California Wildfires 
 
DATE: August 1, 2018 
 

In an effort to assist victims of the current wildfires in California, Insurance 
Commissioner Dave Jones is calling on all property insurance companies to implement 
emergency expedited claims and billing grace periods to help residents and businesses 
begin their recovery more quickly. 
 

Additional Living Expenses (ALE): Insurers should adopt a standard ALE advance 
payment of at least 4 months for a total loss, upon request. Additional ALE should be 
available upon proper proof following the advance period, upon request. Current law 
imposes no requirement for advance payment of ALE. This practice would recognize 
the reality that following a total loss in a wildfire disaster, consumers need support 
immediately. 
 

Personal Property (Contents): Insurers should provide a standard contents advance 
payment of at least 25% of policy limits for a total loss of the primary residence in a 
wildfire disaster. Additional contents payments should be available upon proper proof 
and upon request. 
 
Vehicle Claims: Upon satisfaction of proof of claim, insurance companies should 
expedite payment of automobile property damage claims under comprehensive loss 
coverage. The Department of Insurance is not specifying precisely how much these 
claims should be expedited. 

 

Billing: All insurers should grant billing leniency for at least 30 days for customers in 
designate wildfire disaster areas. Whenever there is widespread wildfire loss, some 
victims lose their insurance renewal notices or may not have the ability to have mail 
forwarded. This can result in victims losing their insurance coverage for nonpayment of 
premium. Many insurers already voluntarily grant payment leniency for wildfire 
victims. This is not limited to homeowners insurance. A renewal bill for auto 
insurance, health insurance, or life insurance is as likely to be destroyed as is a bill for 
homeowners insurance. 
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Debris Removal: Insurers should cooperate with an expedited debris removal 
process coordinated through city, county and state agencies, with master debris 
removal vendor contracts unless the insurer can provide more rapid debris removal 
outside of the state and local government coordinated effort. Insureds and insurers 
would not be obligated for more than the reasonable expenses for debris removal. 
Insurers would assist their insureds in providing policy and payment information to the 
responsible county in order for the county to fulfil its due diligence requirements. 
Insurers would not be required to provide any information to the county that would be in 
conflict with its obligation to protect their insured’s personal information without express 
permission of their insureds. 
 
Inventory Forms: Insurers should agree to accept home inventory software (or paper 
alternative) currently available to the public by IINC or the CDI (or other reasonable 
forms), without a requirement of using company-specific inventory forms. Insurers 
would not be required to waive their rights to seek additional information upon receipt 
of an inventory form from an insured. 
 
Inventory Itemization: Insurers should agree to accept reduced itemization of contents 
in wildfire total losses. In some cases it is appropriate for inventories to allow grouping 
of categories of personal property, such as allowing a listing of "100 DVDs" instead of 
requiring a list of specific titles. 
 


