News: 2010 Press Release
For Release: June 21, 2010
Media Calls Only: 916-492-3566
Commissioner Poizner Urges California Residents to Take Advantage of Affordable Auto Insurance Option
As Colusa, Imperial, Merced and Sutter counties struggle with near or above 20 percent unemployment, many drivers have failed to take advantage of a program that could help them. So far this year, only two motorists in Colusa County have signed up for the state's Low Cost Auto Insurance program, an affordable way to comply with the law.
"With continuing sky high unemployment, Californians need an affordable auto insurance option now more than ever," said Commissioner Poizner. "If you drive without insurance, you face potential fines, a suspended license and your car could be impounded. Thankfully, the Low Cost Auto Insurance program can help low-income or recently unemployed drivers get the insurance they need to avoid trouble with the law. I urge all drivers to consider the LCA program as another way to stay on the right side of the law."
The purpose of the CLCA is to provide low-cost automobile liability insurance to good drivers who demonstrate financial need. The program was established in 1999 and has been available in every California county since 2007. Rates are set and adjusted annually in each county so that the premiums collected are sufficient to cover losses and expenses in each county. The program is not subsidized by taxpayer dollars.
A list of rates for all counties is available at http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0100-consumers/0060-information-guides/0010-automobile/lca/index.cfm.
Poizner reminds motorists that it's easier to qualify for the program than they might think. The eligibility requirements for the program include:
- An applicant must be at least 19 years old, continuously licensed for 3 years and must be a "good driver" - no more than one at-fault property damage only accident, or one point for a moving violation in the past three years.
- No at-fault accident involving bodily injury or death in the past three years and no felony or misdemeanor conviction for a violation of the Vehicle Code.
- Family meets income eligibility limits of $27,075 for a single person, $36,425 for two persons and $55,125 for a family of four. Limits continue increase with the size of the family.
- The value of an insured vehicle must not exceed $20,000.
- Payment plans are available.
To learn if you qualify for CLCA, go to www.insurance.ca.gov/lowcost, or call (866) 60-AUTO-1 (866-602-8861).
Please visit the Department of Insurance Web site at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800.927.HELP. Callers from out of state, please dial 213.897.8921. Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD), please dial 800.482.4833.
If you are a member of the public wishing information, please visit our Consumer Services.