News: 2009 Press Release
For Release: November 18, 2009
Media Calls Only: 916-492-3566
No Auto Insurance? No Excuses - California's Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program Offers Affordable Options
Before you hit the road for the holidays make sure you’re covered
Today, Insurance Commissioner Steve Poizner and the California Highway Patrol (CHP) teamed up to issue a simple reminder: If you think you can’t afford automobile liability insurance – think again. California’s Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program (CLCA) is $265 per year in the San Diego area. The holidays are here, and more motorists will be on the roads and highways. Now is the best time to take advantage of the CLCA program to ensure all drivers and their families are protected.
"Every day more than a million uninsured drivers hit the roads in California," said Commissioner Steve Poizner. "With the California Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program, you can get insurance for as little as $22 a month, so think before you get behind the wheel. If you hit another vehicle, you have a lot to lose. It's not worth the serious financial risk."
The CHP will be patrolling California's highways and want all drivers to arrive at their destination safely. With the expected increase in holiday traffic, the CHP is asking for motorists to do their part before they hit the road and carry auto insurance. Automobile liability insurance is always the first step each motorist should take before considering their travel plans, especially this holiday season and year round. The CLCA program is an affordable option for eligible drivers. There's really no excuse to drive without auto insurance.
The Department of Insurance reminds motorists that it's easier to qualify for the program than you may think. The eligibility requirements for the program include:
- An applicant must be a "good driver" – no more than one at-fault property damage only accident, or one point for a moving violation in the past three years.
- No at-fault accident involving bodily injury or death in the past three years and no felony or misdemeanor conviction for a violation of the Vehicle Code.
- Family meets income eligibility limits of $27,075 for a single person, $36,425 for two persons and $55,125 for a family of four.
- The value of an insured vehicle must not exceed $20,000.
"The bottom line is it's illegal to drive without insurance, so take advantage of this affordable program," said Poizner. "With the California Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program, there's no excuse to not have insurance."
To learn if you qualify for CLCA, visit www.insurance.ca.gov/LOWCOST, or call (866) 60-AUTO-1 (866-602-8861).
The California Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program was established in1999 as a pilot program in Los Angeles and San Francisco. SB 20, passed in 2005, authorized the Commissioner to launch the program throughout the state upon his determination of need in each county. Beginning in April 2006, the department began expanding the program statewide. Commissioner Poizner made the CLCA program available to every county in the state in December 2007.
Please visit the Department of Insurance Web site at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800.927.HELP. Callers from out of state, please dial 213.897.8921. Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD), please dial 800.482.4833.
If you are a member of the public wishing information, please visit our Consumer Services.