

NOTICE

- TO: All Admitted Insurers, Surplus Line Brokers, and Other Interested Parties
- **DATE:** January 31, 2023

SUBJECT: 2022 Insurance (Premium) Tax Filing Information

Annual Premium Tax Filing Due Dates	 Surplus Line Broker Premium Tax Filings - Due March 1, 2023 Insurer Premium Tax Filings - Due April 1, 2023 Ocean Marine Insurance Premium Tax Filings - Due June 15, 2023
Important Reminders	Provide the Executive Officer contact email address on 2022 Premium Tax Filing forms to receive the latest tax updates from the California Department of Insurance (CDI).
	Please file only one (1) Tax Return with CDI.
Premium Tax Filing Process	Premium tax filings can be done 1) electronically or 2) by paper. It is important to note that <u>only one</u> method should be selected for the 2022 Premium Tax Filing process.
	• File Electronically: Send a scanned copy of the physically signed 2022 Tax Return form to PremiumTaxFiling@insurance.ca.gov .
	• File Paper Originals: Refer to "2022 Tax Forms, Instructions, and Information" within the Tax Forms section for the appropriate mailing address.
	CDI encourages taking advantage of electronic filing.
Premium Tax Filing Requirements	Each Insurer or Surplus Line Broker is required to file a Premium Tax return for all business transacted during the preceding calendar year.
	Please note that if there was no business transacted in calendar year 2022, or the business was established in calendar year 2022, a tax filing is still required to be filed by the appropriate required due date noted above. (<i>California Revenue and Taxation Code section 12302 and California Insurance Code section 1774</i>)
	For Surplus Line Brokers with no taxable premiums to report, please use the CDI Tax Return form (CDI FS-006-0 [Revised 11/2022]).
	CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE PROTECT • PREVENT • PRESERVE

2022 Insurance (Premium) Tax Filing Information Page 2 January 31, 2023

Installment / Prepayment Requirements	Each Insurer or Surplus Line Broker whose annual tax liability for the preceding calendar year 2022 was twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) or more is required to make prepayments/monthly installments as noted below:
	 Insurers – Quarterly prepayments for the current calendar year 2023.
	 Surplus Line Brokers – Monthly installment payments for the current calendar year 2023.
EFT Requirements	Each Insurer or Surplus Line Broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar year 2022 was more than twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) is required to make payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).
	To avoid delays in processing the 2023 EFT payments, the following items are required in the EFT transaction:
	Taxpayer Identification Number
	Tax Type Code
	Tax Amount Due Date
Premium Tax Filing Forms	All <u>2022 Tax Forms, Instructions, and Information</u> are available on CDI's website.
	For the "Tax on Insurers Law", please refer to <u>California Department of</u> <u>Tax and Fee Administration website.</u>
	For Surplus Line Brokers, please refer to <u>California Insurance Code</u> <u>Sections 1760-1780</u> .
EFT Hotline Assistance	If assistance is needed with establishing an EFT account or experience any problems with making a payment by the required due dates, please contact the EFT Hotline prior to the payment due date to avoid any potential penalty assessment . (<i>California Revenue and Taxation Code</i> <i>section 12602 and California Insurance Code sections 12976.5 and</i> <i>1775.8</i>)
	If you are unable to access the CDI website, prefer to obtain a hard copy of a tax form, or have questions regarding tax payments, please contact the EFT Hotline:
	• By phone at (916) 492-3288
	 By email at <u>EFT@insurance.ca.gov</u>