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NOTICE OF RECENTLY ENACTED STATUTES 
 
To: ALL PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURERS AND INTERESTED 

PERSONS 
 
Date:  October 31, 2007 
 
SUBJECT: Laws Enacted Subsequent to 2003 Southern California Wildfires 
 
The purpose of this Notice is to remind insurers and other licensees of provisions of law enacted  
after the 2003 wildfires that impact claims handling, renewals or underwriting of home owners 
coverage.  These recent additions to the Insurance Code provide additional protections to victims 
of catastrophic losses such as those experienced due to the recent wildfires in southern 
California.  The Department of Insurance expects careful adherence to the requirement of these 
laws by all insurers and other entities or persons doing insurance business in California. 
 
 HOMEOWNER’S BILL OF RIGHTS of 2004 

 
 

Insurance Code 
Section 

Summary of Law Bill 
Information 

§675.1 (a), (b), 
(c) 
Reconstruction 
of primary 
residence & 
policy renewal 

(a)  Insurers cannot cancel insurance for a primary residence 
when it is up for renewal and hasn’t been rebuilt yet.  
Insurers, with input from homeowner/insured, may adjust 
policy limits, coverage, and premium payment before or at 
the time of renewal. 
 
(b)  Insurers cannot cancel insurance while the primary 
residence is being rebuilt, except for reasons stated in 
Insurance Code section 676.  Insurer cannot use the fact that 
the primary residence is damaged as a basis for cancelling 
insurance. 
 
(c)  Insurers must renew the insurance policy at least once if 
a total loss to the primary residence was caused by a disaster 
and not by the homeowner/insureds negligence.   
 

AB 2962 
Ch. 605          
(2004) 
 

§2051 (a) & (b) 
Amount of 
recovery with an 
“actual cash 
value” policy 

(a)  The amount of recovery for fire insurance that requires 
payment of actual cash value for the loss is the expense to 
the homeowner/insured of replacing what was lost as of the 
time the fire began. 
 
(b)  For a total loss to the home/structure, the amount 
recovered is the policy limit or the fair market value of the 
home/structure, whichever is less. 
      For a partial loss to the home/structure or loss to its 

AB 2962 
Ch. 605  
(2004) 
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contents, the amount recovered is what it costs to repair, 
rebuild or replace the home/structure or contents minus a fair 
and reasonable deduction for depreciation, whichever is less.  
The depreciation only applies to the parts of the 
home/structure that are subject to repair and replacement 
during the useful life of the structure. 
 

§2051.5 
Amount of 
recovery with a 
“replacement 
cost” policy  
 

Requires payment of the replacement cost for a fire loss 
based on what it would cost the homeowner/insured to 
repair, rebuild or replace the home without a deduction for 
physical depreciation.   
 
Allows at least 12 months to rebuild and still receive 
replacement costs with possibility of a 6 month extension.  If 
a declared disaster (Governor’s State of Emergency), 
homeowner/insured has at least 24 months to repair, rebuild 
or replace the home. 
 
Allows homeowner/insured after a total loss, to rebuild or 
replace the home at a location other than the original location 
of the total loss. 
 

AB 2199 
Ch. 311    
(2004) 
 

§10089.70 (b) 
Homeowner’s 
Mediation 
Program 

Claims for residential property losses (other than from 
earthquakes) occurring after 9/30/2003 for which the 
Governor has declared a state of emergency, may be referred 
by the Department of Insurance to it’s mediation program for 
discussion of possible payments over the policy limits.  Sets 
other conditions for mediation.     
 

SB 64 
Ch. 357    
(2004) 
 

§10102 
§10103 
§10103.5 
Property 
Insurance 
Disclosure form 

Modifies the California Residential Property Insurance 
Disclosure form that insurers have to send to 
homeowners/insureds.  Adds a new disclosure requirement 
known as the California Residential Property Insurance Bill 
of Rights which has to be sent to homeowners/insureds every 
other year. 
 

SB 1855 
Ch. 385    
(2004) 
 

 OTHER PROTECTIONS 
 

 

§678 
Policy 
expiration, 
renewal, notice 
 
 
§679.9 
Information to 

Insurers must inform insureds in writing of any increase or 
decrease in the annual premium for residential property 
insurance and certain other insurance compared to the 
previous year; the reasons for the change; telephone numbers 
and information regarding consumer complaints.  
  
If insurer changes annual premium, an insured can request in 
writing certain information that shall be sent to the insured 

AB 1191 
Ch. 571    
(2003) 
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insureds when 
annual premium 
payment 
changes 
 

within 15 business days of the request. 

§791.12 
Adverse 
Underwriting 
Decisions 

Insurers cannot cancel, fail to renew, increase premium 
amount (adverse underwriting decisions) based on the fact 
that the insureds has asked questions about their residential 
fire or property insurance policy limits, coverage, etc.  
 

AB 1049 
Ch. 442    
(2003) 
 

§2060 
Additional 
Living Expenses 
 

If a state of emergency has been declared, coverage for 
additional living expenses shall be for a period of 24 months.  
Insures must provide homeowner/insureds with a list of 
items that are covered by the “additional living expense” part 
of the insurance policy. 
 

SB 2 
Ch. 447    
(2005) 
 

§677.4  
Notice 
Requirements 
for Cancellation 
 
§2071; §2074.7;   
§2074.8; §5093; 
§6010 
Fire Ins. policies 

Establishes the notice requirements for cancellation of 
property insurance to at least 20 days, except if cancellation 
is for non-payment of premiums then at least 10 days.   
 
 
These sections revise the California Standard Form Fire 
Insurance Policy, the California Standard Form of County 
Fire Insurance Policy and amend cancellation rights and 
responsibilities. 
 

AB 1727 
Ch. 148    
(2003) 
 

§15006 & 15027 
Public 
Insurance 
Adjusters 
 
§15027.1 
Public 
Insurance 
Adjuster 
Disaster 
Assistance 

Raises the fines for violations of these provisions. 
Adds requirements to the contract between the Adjuster and 
the insured/client.   
 
 
Prohibits a public insurance adjuster from soliciting business 
from homeowners/insureds until seven (7) days after a 
disaster (state of emergency declared by Governor or more 
than 25 dwellings damaged or destroyed), unless the 
homeowner/insured or their representative contacts the 
adjuster directly. 
 

AB 1953 
Ch. 600    
(2004)  
 
SB 518 
Ch. 448    
(2005) 
 
 

 
Dated: October 31, 2007 
 
 
 
  
              /s/                 .                          
DENNIS WARD 
Chief Deputy Insurance Commissioner-Operations  


