
State of California Department of Insurance
SURPLUS LINE BROKER'S MONTHLY TAX PAYMENT
FS-007 (REV 10/03)

 Check Payments OR

Mail to: Mail to:

1. GROSS Premiums $
2. Deduct: RETURN Premiums
3. NET TAXABLE Premiums $
4. Tax Rate
5. TAX DUE this Month $
6. Credit: Prior month Overpayment
7. Net amount DUE $

Surplus Line License No.

*

*

*

*
in which the business was transacted.

California Insurance Code Section 1775.4(e): A penalty of 10 percent of the amount of the monthly 
payment due shall be levied upon and paid by any surplus line broker who fails to make the necessary
payment within the time required, plus interest at the rate of 1 percent per calendar month or fraction
thereof from the due date of the payment until the date payment is received by the commissioner, but
not for any period after the due date of the annual tax.  The commissioner may remit the penalty in a 
case where he or she finds, as a result of examination or otherwise, that the failure of, or delay in,
payment arose out of excusable mistake or excusable inadvertence.

Request for extension: 1775.4(g): The commissioner, upon a showing of good cause, may extend for 
not to exceed 10 days the time for making a monthly payment.  The extension may be granted at any
time, provided that a request therefore is filed with the commissioner within or prior to the period for 
which the extension may be granted.  No interest shall be paid for the period of time for which the
extension is granted.

CONTROLLER-STATE OF CALIFORNIA
If you are mandated or have voluntarily elected to pay by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), you must use

Net Taxable Premiums for the months shown on this form should be the actual taxable premiums 

EFT method of payment.  
You are still required to submit this Form.

transacted during the month.
Delinquent if not paid on or before the first day of the third calendar month following the end of the month 

PENALTY AND INTEREST MAY BE ASSESSED ON DELINQUENT PAYMENTS

CALIFORNIA INSURANCE CODE PROVISIONS:

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

statues in 1994).
the calendar month with exceptions as specified in Section 1775.1 of the Insurance Code (added by 

If your tax liability last year was $5,000 but was less than $20,000 and wish to pay by Check, complete 
this form.

Make check payable to:

Every Surplus Line Broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar year was five thousand dollars ($5,000)
or more is required to make monthly payments to the current calendar year.

The amount of the payment shall be 3% of the taxable surplus line premiums transacted by the broker during

I certify under penalty  of perjury under the laws of the State of California that this is a true and correct declaration.

Company Name and Address

P.O. Box 1918
Sacramento, CA  95812-1918

300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1300
Sacramento, CA  95814

State of California
Department of Insurance
Tax Accounting Unit

THIS FORM MUST BE RETURNED TO:
Payment Voucher         
Only

State of California
Department of Insurance
Tax Accounting Unit

DELINQUENT if not paid on the 1st day of the 3rd month following 
the end of the above month.

TAXABLE NONADMITTED PREMIUMS ON POLICIES 
CERTIFICATES AND ENDORSEMENTS TRANSACTED 

BY THIS BROKER

Electronic Funds 
Transfer

For the MONTH of 20

Telephone No.

Signature of Broker or Officer Date

3%
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