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NOTICE

TO: All Admitted Insurers, Insurance Producers, Title Marketing
Representatives and Other Interested Parties

DATE: November 24, 2009
SUBJECT: Changes in Licensing Laws to Take Effect on January 1, 2010

AB 800 (Chapter 254, Statutes of 2009) will become effective on January 1, 2010. This bill made
several changes to the California Insurance Code (CIC) for the purpose of encouraging online filings
from insurance producers and to bring California closer to uniformity with other states’ producer
licensing laws. The changes that may have a direct effect on insurance producers and applicants are
as follows:

Electronic License Applications and Renewals

Beginning January 1, 2010, most individual and business entity insurance producers and applicants
must submit their filings to CDI electronically. Specifically, this requirement applies to individuals
renewing or applying for the following licenses:
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Individuals may, for good cause shown, request an exemption to these electronic filing requirements.
Such requests may be made by contacting the Toll-Free Producer Licensing Hotline (800) 967-9331.
For renewals, these requests should be made several weeks prior to the license expiration date to
ensure a timely renewal.

Producer Licensing (800) 967-9331
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This requirement also applies to business entities applying for or renewing the following licenses:

New Applications Renewals

« Life-Only < Life-Only

« Accident and Health Accident and Health

Life and Health Life and Health

Fire and Casualty Fire and Casualty
Automobile Insurance Personal Lines Broker-Agent
Automobile Insurance

e

*

L)

X3

S

X/
°

.
e

*

X/

*

X3

S

X/
°

e

*

Electronic Business Entity Endorsements and Terminations

Beginning January 1, 2010, Business Entities listed above under New Applications must
electronically submit their agent endorsements (i.e. adding or removing individual licensees who are
to transact insurance under authority of its license). (CIC Section 1661)

New Non-Resident Business Entities Law

Currently, non-resident business entities cannot endorse California resident individuals on their
license. Additionally, non-resident business entities must have at least one individual licensed from
the business entity's resident state endorsed on the license.

Effective January 1, 2010, non-resident business entities will be able to endorse California resident
individuals on their license. Also, non-resident business entities will not be required to endorse an
individual from the business entity's resident state. They do though need to endorse at least one
individual from a state other than California. (CIC Section 1656)

E-Mail Addresses Are Now Mandatory
Effective January 1, 2010, license applicants must provide the e-mail address to which the applicant
wants the commissioner to direct all license-related correspondence. (CIC Section 1658)

Personal Lines Broker-Agent New Continuing Education Requirement
Effective January 1, 2010, the personal lines broker-agent continuing education requirement will
increase from 20 hours to 24 hours during each two-year license term. (CIC Section 1749.31)

Prelicensing Education Requirement Update

Applicants for a life-only agent license, accident and health license, personal lines broker-agent
license, limited lines automobile insurance agent license, and fire and casualty broker-agent license,
who are currently licensed as non-residents in California shall be required to complete only 12 hours
of study on ethics and California Insurance Code. (Sections 1749 (g) and (h))

Continuing Education Exemption Revision

The exemption from the continuing education requirement for licensees 70 years of age and in good
standing for 30 continuous years does not apply to those individuals licensed for the first time on or
after January 1, 2010. (Section 1749.3 (e))

If you have any questions regarding this notice, please e-mail the Producer Licensing Bureau at
https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/pli/servlet/InformationRequest or call the CDI's Producer
Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331 or (916) 322-3555. Please be sure to include your name,
telephone number, license number and e-mail address in all correspondence with the CDI.




