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NOTICE 
 

TO:  All Admitted Insurers and Surplus Line Brokers 
 
DATE: October 27, 2008 
 
SUBJECT: Guidelines for Waiver of Penalty for Non-Use of Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) 

and for Non-Timely Payment of Taxes 
 
EFT Payments 
 
Pursuant to California Insurance Code (CIC) Sections 1775.8(c)(1) and 12976.5(c)(1), any 
surplus line broker or insurer required to remit taxes by EFT who remits those taxes by means 
other that an approved EFT method shall be assessed a penalty in an amount equal to 10 percent 
of the taxes due at the time of the payment.   
 
Insurers and surplus line brokers are required to participate in the EFT program if their annual 
taxes for the preceding year exceeded twenty thousand dollars ($20,000).  Failure to participate 
in the EFT program results in a penalty fee for insurers and surplus line brokers.  Per CIC 
Sections 1775.8(c)(2), 12976.5(c)(2), or California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 
12602(c)(2), insurers or surplus line brokers may be relieved of the penalty for failure to make 
payment by EFT.  All insurers and surplus line brokers are also reminded that while Fedwire is 
an appropriate EFT method, electronic funds transfers may be made by Fedwire only if prior 
approval is obtained from the California Department of Insurance (CDI). 
 
Non-Timely Payments 
 
Pursuant to CIC Sections 1775.4(e) and 1775.5(b), a penalty of 10 percent of the amount of the 
payment due shall be levied upon and paid by any surplus line broker who fails to make the 
necessary payment within the time required. 
 
Non-compliance with the timeliness requirements results in a penalty fee for insurers and surplus 
line brokers.  Per CIC Sections 1775.4(e) and 1775.5(b), surplus lines brokers may be relieved of 
the penalty for non-compliance with the timeliness requirement.  (Insurers who are non-
compliant with the timeliness requirement are required to send their waiver request to the Board 
of Equalization (BOE) pursuant to California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 12636.  The 
BOE may be contacted at:  John Eng, Board of Equalization, Excise Tax Division, 450 N Street, 
MIC-56, Sacramento, CA  95814.) 
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Waiver of Penalties 
 
Waivers may be granted due to reasonable cause or circumstances beyond the insurer or surplus 
line broker’s control.  To define and make clear situations that constitute reasonable cause, the 
CDI has promulgated regulations (California Code of Regulations, Title 10, Section 2330). 
 
In general, not being aware of the EFT and/or timeliness requirements is not considered 
reasonable cause or a circumstance beyond the insurer or surplus line broker’s control.  In 
addition to the statutes, the EFT and timeliness requirements are stated in the filing instructions 
included with the tax forms, and these requirements are also incorporated into the CDI’s Annual 
Tax Return Information Notice which is sent to all admitted insurers, surplus line brokers, and 
other interested parties.  In most cases, waivers of penalties are not granted in situations 
involving staffing issues.  Prudent business practices will ensure that back-up procedures are in 
place when unexpected personnel issues surface.   
 
If you have any questions regarding this Notice, please contact Roger Bankston at (916) 492-
3042.  
 

http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0120-notices/upload/PenaltyWaiverRegs.pdf

