DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

Administration & Licensing Services Branch Producer Licensing Bureau Education Section 320 Capitol Mall Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 492-3064 www.insurance.ca.gov



NOTICE

TO: All Education Providers and Other Interested Parties

DATE: November 20, 2014

SUBJECT: Amended Prelicensing and Continuing Education Regulations

The California Office of Administrative Law recently approved amendments to the <u>Prelicensing</u> and <u>Continuing Education Regulations</u>, Sections 2186 through 2188.10 of the California Code of Regulations, which take effect on February 19, 2015. Listed below are summaries describing several of the major changes contained in the amended regulations.

1. Course Approval, Section 2188.2(b)

Section 2188.2 (b) was amended to reduce the number of days that education providers have to submit their class presentation schedules for their first course offering from 14 to 10 days.

2. Self-Directed Continuing Education Courses, Section 2186.1(e)(2)(B)

Section 2186.1(e)(2)(B) was amended to clarify that a non-contact, self-directed continuing education course is not an interactive continuing education course or an online continuing education course. Self-directed courses utilize study material in hardcopy or downloadable portable document format (pdf) textbook, eBook, video or video files, audio file, compact diskette (CD), digital versatile disc (DVD), or other data storage devices.

3. Online Continuing Education Courses, Section 2186.1(e)(2)(C)

Section 2186.1(e)(2)(c) was added to specify that an online continuing education course is a non-contact course that the student takes and completes over the Internet. Online continuing education courses must meet the new requirements of Section 2188.2(k).

4. Online Continuing Education Course Guidelines, Section 2188.2(k)

Section 2188.2(k) was added to specify that non-contact, online continuing education courses must meet five requirements. The five requirements are based on the National Association of Insurance Commissioners online continuing education course guidelines are as follows:

a) providers must demonstrate that reasonable measures have been taken to prevent student access to the online course examination before review of the online course materials;

b) demonstrate that reasonable measures have been taken to prevent student from alternately accessing the online course materials and online course examinations;c) demonstrate that reasonable measures have been taken to prevent student downloading of any online course examination;

All Education Providers and Other Interested Parties Amended Prelicensing and Continuing Education Regulations Page 2

d) provide review questions at the end of each section/chapter for courses approved for two or more continuing education credit hours and prevent student access to the final examination until each set of questions are answered at a 70 percent pass rate; and,
e) provide final online course examination questions that do not duplicate section/chapter questions).

5. Instructor/Subject Matter Experts, Section 2188.1(c)

Section 2188.1(c) was added to require all education providers to submit to the Commissioner a list of all instructors and subject matters experts that the provider uses for all of its approved courses. The lists must be provided upon the initial provider certification application, at the time the provider renews their provider certification, and at any other time a new instructor or subject matter expert is authorized.

6. Education Forms, Section 2188.50

Several education forms have been updated. Providers submitting a filing on or after February 19, 2015 should go to the department's website at <u>http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0040-seek-producer-forms/0200-education-providers/index.cfm</u> to obtain the new versions. Use of an outdated form may cause a delay in the processing of an education related filing.

The sections listed above are some of the major changes to the regulations. There are changes throughout the regulations, including non-substantive clarification and clean-up language. Education providers should review the regulations in their entirety to ensure compliance with the amended regulations by February 19, 2015.

If you have any questions regarding this Notice please e-mail CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau at <u>https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/pli/servlet/InformationRequest</u> or you may contact the Producer Licensing Bureau's Education Section at (916) 492-3064.