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NOTICE 
 

To: Admitted Insurers and all Other Interested Parties 
 
Date:   September 28, 2007 
 
Subject: Fingerprint Fee Reduction - California Resident and Non-Resident Insurance Producers 
 
 
Effective October 1, 2007, the FBI’s share of the fingerprint processing fee will be reduced from $24 
to $19 for California insurance producer license applicants.  All California resident and non-resident 
insurance producer applicants are required to submit fingerprint impressions to the California 
Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) for completion of a 
background check before the California Department of Insurance (CDI) can complete processing their 
application. 
 
California Resident Applicants 
 
For California resident producer applicants, the CDI encourages applicants to obtain their fingerprint 
impressions prior to taking the examination to minimize the risk that the license issuance will be 
delayed while awaiting the results from both the DOJ and the FBI.  The DOJ maintains a listing of 
authorized Live Scan Fingerprinting vendors that are available to California resident license 
applicants.  The DOJ list is broken down by county.  This list is available at the following website:  
http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.php.   
 
The total fee for obtaining fingerprint impressions is calculated as follows:  FBI processing fee of $19, 
DOJ processing fee of $32, and an additional "rolling fee" charged by the DOJ authorized vendor.  
The additional "rolling fee" will vary depending on the vendor and is noted on DOJ's listing of 
authorized Live Scan Fingerprint vendors.  License applicants are encouraged to contact the Live Scan 
vendor in advance to verify their current operating hours, location, fees, and their acceptable method 
of payment (i.e. credit card, cash, ATM). 
 
For those applicants who choose to obtain their fingerprint impressions at the CDI’s examination sites 
(i.e. Los Angeles, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco), the total processing fee for the fingerprint 
impressions taken by CDI’s contracted vendor will be reduced from $65.95 to $60.95.  This fee 
consists of the FBI and DOJ processing fees noted above as well as the CDI’s contracted vendor’s 
“rolling fee” of $9.95.  The applicant may pay by check or VISA/MasterCard.  Cash will not be 
accepted.  
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Applicants Who Are Not Residents of California 
Non-resident producer applicants can obtain fingerprint impressions at a location outside of California. 
These fingerprint impressions can be taken by a law enforcement agency (e.g. police department, 
sheriff's office) or an authorized fingerprint vendor on a standard fingerprint card.  The fingerprint 
card is available from the law enforcement agency that you contact to obtain your fingerprints or you 
can request fingerprint cards from the CDI by calling (916) 492-3570 to leave your name and address 
where the cards are to be sent. 
 
After obtaining your fingerprint impressions onto fingerprint cards, you will need to submit those 
cards to the CDI’s contracted live scan vendor so that they may be scanned and electronically 
submitted to the DOJ.  Please follow the instruction on the CDI’s Web site at 
http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0020-apply-license/0200-indiv-non-resident/app-
requirements.cfm to ensure that your fingerprint impressions are properly recorded and sent to the 
appropriate fingerprint vendor. 
 
Please visit the CDI’s Website at www.insurance.ca.gov for more information regarding the 
fingerprint requirements.  If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact the 
Examination Section at (916) 492-3570. 


