separator
Skip to Contentseparator HomeseparatorCheck License StatussepartorContact UssepartorRequest for Assistance
Welcome to the California Department of Insurance
Site tools
Decrease font size Increase font size Site map Help Print-friendly version
AGENTS & BROKERS: Checklist for Application and Renewal Filing Requirements

AB 393 (Scott, Chapter 321, Statutes of 2000)*

Application Checklist
Materials Links Do I have this requirement completed?
Business Entity Application

Form LIC 441-11
When completing this form, you must file one of the following:

  • an Action Notice of Appointment form LIC 447-54, or
  • a Broker Bond.
or
Individual Application Form LIC 441-9
On this application, you are required to complete at least one of the following:
  • the section entitled, "Agency or Business Entity Affiliation",
  •  or
  • the section entitled, "Action Notice of Appointment", form LIC 447-54A,

 or

  • the section entitled, "Action Notice of Solicitor" , form LIC 417-31, or
  • file a Broker Bond with this application.
plus
Fingerprint Requirement Fingerprint impressions are required for unlicensed applicants. You must visit Accurate Biometrics website at www.accuratebiometrics.com or call Accurate Biometrics at (866) 361-9944 to find a fingerprint location convenient to you to have your fingerprint impressions taken prior to submitting your application.  Fingerprint impressions will not be accepted from any other source. A copy of your Request For Live Scan Service form LIC 442-39A must be submitted with your application verifying your prints were taken by Accurate Biometrics.
Applicant Fees
(Resident and Non-Resident)
License filing - two year term: $140 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $154)*

Action Notice fee: $24 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $26)

Business Entity Endorsement: $24 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $26) per endorsement

                              or
Action Notice of Solicitor: $24 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $26)                       

Examination: $41 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $45) per scheduled examination
Fingerprint Processing: $58.30, all applicants must appear at the designated examination site with a check in the amount of $58.30 made payable to Accurate Biometrics.  Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover Card will also be accepted.
Renewal Fee - two year term $140 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $154)
Where to File: California Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139

*These forms are in PDF format.  To view these forms, your browser must have Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer. A free copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded our Free Document Readers  webpage.

License Renewal Checklist
Materials Links Do I have this requirement completed?
Individual and Business Entity Renewal

Application to Renew Individual License, form LIC 448-29A or Application to Renew Business Entity License, form LIC 448-29B.

plus
Renewal Fee
(Resident and Non-Resident)
License filing - two year term: $140 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $154)
Where to File: California Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139

*These forms are in PDF format. To view these forms, your browser must have Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer. A free copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded from our Free Document Readers webpage.

How Can I Get A License?

Non-Resident Requirements

Educational Objectives

Personal Lines Broker-Agent License Questions and Answers

Return to Personal Lines Agent-Broker License Main Page

If you have any questions about the Personal Lines Broker-Agent License information you are reviewing, please read the most commonly asked questions in our Personal Lines Questions and Answers section. If you need further assistance, please call CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331, or send an e-mail to Producer Licensing Bureau. Please be sure to include your name, telephone number, license number and e-mail address in all correspondence with the CDI.

separator