AGENTS & BROKERS: LIFE-LIMITED TO THE PAYMENT OF FUNERAL AND BURIAL EXPENSES (LI)
Please follow the steps noted below to complete an application online and schedule your license examination:
Fingerprint impressions are required for unlicensed applicants and can be submitted at anytime prior to taking the license examination, even before submitting the license application. Please use the following link for instructions: California Resident Licensing Fingerprint Requirements.
Note: Fingerprint impressions may be taken at the California Department of Insurance examination sites. Failure to submit fingerprints in a timely manner may cause a delay in the issuance of your license.
1033 Application for Written Consent - Any person who has been convicted of felony crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust in a state or federal jurisdiction, or who has been convicted of any violation of Title 18 U.S.C.§ 1033 (the "Act"), must first obtain the written consent of the Commissioner prior to engaging or continuing to engage in the business of insurance in California.
Schedule and pass examination. This link will provide you with information on how to schedule your examination: Insurance License Examination Information Please note that effective November 13, 2012 the California Department of Insurance (CDI) now requires California resident applicants to first pass the qualifying license examination prior to submitting their license application.
This change affects California residents applying for any license in which an examination is required (i.e., life, accident and health, property, casualty, personal lines, limited lines automobile, and life limited to funeral and burial expenses). CDI's online application service Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) now requires applicants to enter a unique 12-digit identification number which is located on the upper left corner of the passed examination letter. FLASH only allows the application to be submitted if the applicant enters the correct identification number and has passed the examination, not just scheduled the examination. Consequently, for an application to be accepted, the applicant's identification number entered must be identical to the identification number that is stated on the passed examination letter.
The identification number consists of the applicant's last four digits of his or her social security number (e.g., 7777), followed by the two-digit birth month (e.g., 01), followed by the two-digit birth day (e.g., 02), and finally, the four-digit birth year (e.g., 1963). In this example, the 12-digit identification number would be 777701021963. The online application service will only allow the application to be submitted if the identification number is correct and you passed your license examination.
Step 4 - Apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and nonresident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, you may use the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application.
Study Material - The Life-Limited to the Payment of Funeral and Burial Expense Examination Objectives were developed as a study guide to assist in the preparation for the examination.
- License two year filing fee: $140 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $154).
- Examination fee: $41 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $45) per scheduled exam date at a California Department of Insurance examination site or $74 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $78) per scheduled examination date at a PSI examination site.
: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.
A Life-Limited to the Payment of Burial and Funeral Expenses Agent is no longer required to have an appointment to have the license issued. Upon application approval the license can be downloaded or printed by using the CDI's Print or Download Your License service. However, the licensee may not transact, solicit, or negotiate the sale of insurance until after one of the following documents are completed and submitted to the California Department of Insurance.
The sponsoring insurance company admitted to California completes an Action Notice of Appointment, by submitting form LIC 447-54A.
The sponsoring business entity licensed in California completes a Business Entity Endorsement, by submitting form LIC 411-8A.
Fees are $24 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $26) per action notice of appointment or business entity endorsement.
All fees mailed to the department must be addressed to:
Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139
All filing fees submitted are not refundable or transferable, whether or not the application is acted upon or the examination is taken.