
 

          

       

 

       
   

                                                                                     
 

    
    

  

   
     

  

  

� � 

� � 

� � 

State of California Department of Insurance 
Application to Renew Bail License 
LIC 431-1B (Rev 03/2019) 

Name:  License Expiration Date: / / 
Last, First, Middle or Business Entity Name  Month Day Year 

Bail License Number NPN (individual)  FEIN (Business Entity) 
Current renewals can be renewed faster online at www.insurance.ca.gov, under Online Services. 

Check license type(s) you are renewing 

Bail Agent $188 per surety* Bail Solicitor $188 per employer*  Bail Permittee $788* 

Renewal Application Certifications 
1. Have you and/or, your organization or any of its officers, directors, or 10% or greater shareholders been convicted of a crime which has not been 
previously reported to the California Department of Insurance?  Yes No 

“Crime” includes a felony, a misdemeanor or a military offense. “Convicted” includes, but is not limited to, having been found guilty by a verdict of a 
judge or jury, having entered a plea of nolo contendere, no contest, having had any charge expunged, dismissed or plea withdrawn pursuant to Penal 
Code 1203.4, or having been given probation, a suspended sentence or a fine. You may exclude traffic citations and juvenile offenses tried in juvenile 
court. You should answer “yes” if you have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor including driving offenses such as, but not limited to, reckless 
driving, driving under the influence and driving with a suspended license, whether or not you spent any time in jail, and whether or not you believe the 
conviction has been removed from your record.  
2. Have you and/or, your organization or any of its officers, directors, or 10% or greater shareholders been involved in any administrative disciplinary 
action which has not been previously reported to the California Department of Insurance?  Yes No 

“Involved” means having a license censured, suspended, revoked, canceled, terminated; or, being assessed a fine, placed on probation or 
surrendering a license to resolve an administrative action. “Involved” also means being named as a party to an administrative or arbitration proceeding, 
which is related to a professional or occupational license. “Involved” also means having a license application denied or the act of withdrawing an 
application to avoid a denial. Include any business so named because of your actions in your capacity as an owner, partner, officer, director, or 
member or manager of a Limited Liability Company. You may exclude terminations due solely to noncompliance with continuing education 
requirements or failure to pay a renewal fee. 
Important Notice: If you have answered “Yes” to 1 or 2, attach a detailed statement, signed by you (original signature), of the events which led to the 
charges (dates and places). If the matter was heard in court, attach copies, Certified by the Court, of the Criminal Complaint and Minute Order 
showing the final plea, judgment and sentence.  
Applicant’s Certifications: I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, that I have read the forgoing 
renewal application and certifications and know the contents thereof and that each statement therein made is full, true and correct. Pursuant to 
Insurance Code Sections 1703 and 1733, I authorize disclosure to the Insurance Commissioner of all financial institution records of any fiduciary 
accounts for the duration of this license. I understand that any changes in background information (per CIC 1729.2) must be filed within 30 days or my 
license can be subjected to disciplinary action. I certify that I am in compliance with the background information reporting requirements of CIC 1729.2. 
3. ►  (  ) 
Signature of applicant or authorized representative (of organization)  Date City/State Telephone 
4. 

Print name E-mail address 
A valid bail bond and surety appointment are required to be on file with the CDI in order to renew any bail license. 

If you are a bail agent and you have no active surety company appointment on file, you will need to submit a surety company appointment along with a 
signed, dated forms filing list, and the $311 surety company appointment fee**. In addition, if you wish to terminate any appointment on file, attach a 
request with your original signature to your renewal application, indicating which surety company appointment(s) you wish to cancel.  
Additional Bail Business Entity renewal requirements: 
• Bail corporations will need to attach the Bail Disclosure form LIC 437-25A for a list of current officers, directors and stockholders. 
• Pursuant to the California Insurance Code (CIC) Section 1810 (a) (4) and (5), all shareholders, officers and directors of a corporation shall be 

licensed bail agents, and shall be disclosed to the department. Any sale or transfer of stock or other interests in the corporation shall require the 
prior approval of the California Department of Insurance (CDI). Form LIC 437-25, Bail Agent Change of Corporate Stockholder, Officer or Director, 
can be accessed from the CDI website at www.insurance.ca.gov. 

*  New Bail Renewal Fees: bail agents pay $188 per surety company appointment, bail solicitors pay $188 per employer and 
the bail permittees pay $788. 
** Surety Appointments: the surety appointment fee is $311. 

http:www.insurance.ca.gov
http:www.insurance.ca.gov


Warning: The terms of this renewal (individual only) may be limited by the Family Support Law, Welfare and Institutions Code Section 11350.6. 

All fees are filing fees and are not refundable whether or not the renewal application is acted upon per Section 1751.5 of the CIC.  
Section 31(e) of the California Business and Professional Code allows the State Board of Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board to share taxpayer 
information with the Department of Insurance.  Applicants and licensees are required to pay all state tax obligations and failure to comply with this 
requirement may result in suspension of license(s) issued by the Department of Insurance. 
Make check payable to: California Department of Insurance, Mail to: P.O. Box 311, Sacramento CA 95812-0311, Bail Information: (916) 492-3035. 
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