## STATE OF CALIFORNIA

## DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY SITUATION by the
Insurance Commissioner of the State of California

WHEREAS, on or about November 8, 2018, Acting California Governor Gavin Newsom proclaimed a state of emergency for Butte County due to the effects of the Camp Fire, and on November 9, 2018 declared a state of emergency in Los Angeles and Ventura Counties due to the Hill and Woolsey Fires burning in California; and

WHEREAS, the dwellings of thousands of California residents have been destroyed or damaged, hundreds of business structures have been destroyed or damaged, and tens of thousands of California residents have been evacuated from their homes; and

WHEREAS the magnitude of these fires and the associated insurance claims are likely to create a shortage of qualified insurance adjusters;

NOW, I, DAVE JONES, Insurance Commissioner of the State of California, in accordance with the authority vested in me by Section 14022.5(a) of the California Insurance Code, HEREBY DECLARE AN EMERGENCY SITUATION to exist with respect to the adjustment of insurance claims arising from the wildfires.

THEREFORE, I AUTHORIZE insurers and licensed insurance adjusters to utilize nonlicensed adjusters to the extent such use is reasonably necessary to respond to the losses arising out of the wildfires if each of the following requirements are met:

- 1. The work performed by nonlicensed adjusters is under the active direction, control, charge, or management of a licensed adjuster or an insurer authorized to do business in California.
- 2. The nonlicensed adjusters register with the Insurance Commissioner within 15 days from the date on which the nonlicensed adjuster commences the claims adjusting activity in connection with the wildfires and re-register with the Insurance Commissioner, if necessary, in conformity with California Insurance Code section 14022.5(c). Registration is valid for a period of 180 days from the date of the registration.
- 3. All claims adjusters, whether California-licensed or not, who are assigned to wildfire claims must be properly trained on the California Unfair Practices Act, Fair Claims Settlement Practices Regulations, and all laws relating to property and casualty insurance claims handling.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF I have hereunto set my hand and caused my official seal to be affixed this 14th day of November, 2018.

nsurance Commissioner